Conversion of the Department of Education within the Arts Faculty into an autonomous School of Education, with effect from September 1, 1976.

Special course-related committees, known as “Programme Committees”, were established, together with an overarching Academic Committee. The first Programme Committee was to deal with Certificate in Education affairs.

“Management Committees” were soon formed to advise the Dean of the School about resource-related issues.